In the Press: Armadale’s Parkerville Children and Youth Care named finalist in Community Services Excellence Awards

AN Armadale organisation working to protect and advocate for young people who have experienced trauma from abuse has been named a finalist in the Community Services Excellence Awards.

Parkerville Children and Youth Care is one of four shortlisted in the ‘Large Organisation’ category in recognition for their work at the George Jones Child Advocacy Centre in Armadale, the first of its kind in the country.

Two other local organisations are among the 31 finalist, with Armadale’s Save the Children in the ‘Outstanding Commitment to Collaborative Place-Based Services or Solutions’ category and the City of Armadale’s Jamie Barr in the ‘Above and Beyond (Individuals)’ category.

Parkerville Children and Youth Care therapeutic and advocacy services director Amanda Paton said the George Jones Child Advocacy Centre drew on the internationally recognised child advocacy centre model and was home to the multi-agency Investigation and Support Team (MIST) since 2015.

“MIST is an integrated community based response involving WA Police, Department Communities and Parkerville to provide a child and family focused response to child sexual abuse,” she said.

“The team includes an investigation unit, child protection workers, specialist child interviewers, psychological therapeutic services and Child and Family Advocates.”

She said services such as Parkerville Children and Youth Care were essential to the WA community, with one in four girls and one in six boys experiencing abuse before they turn 18.

“The George Jones Child Advocacy Centre is a safe place for the community’s most vulnerable children and families affected by trauma from abuse, a place where they can share their experiences with professionals and begin their recovery,” she said.

“We’re honoured to be recognised amongst such an outstanding group of other WA based organisations who have made a positive difference to children, families and communities through collaborative, innovative and creative programs and services.”

Winners will be announced on May 2.

Click here to view the article via Community News.

Share this Post!

Related post